Home schooling is where parents teach their own children at home.
This is not the same as homebound instruction, where we send a teacher to your home. For more information on homebound, please see the homebound section of our website.
Tennessee law permits parents to homeschool their own children in a variety of ways. Please note that all options have an associated cost to parents in terms of paying fees, and buying books and educational material. Scott County Schools do not furnish materials to any home school student. The three ways below vary in cost from very little to a great deal. In order to put it in perspective, Scott County Schools will spend approximately $ 7000 per year educating each student.
One way to home school is called an independent home school. In order to use this option, parents must register with the local board of education and fill out the appropriate form. In addition, they must provide a birth certificate or other acceptable proof of age, an up to date shot record, and proof of the parent’s qualifying education. For all grades a minimum of a high school diploma or GED is required. At the end of the year, the parents must turn in their student’s attendance to the home school supervisor. Students in 5th, 7th, and 9th grade must take the writing assessments given in February. Students in 5th and 7th grade must take the achievement tests given at the end of the year. They will take these at the school nearest where they live. Parents should plan on teaching at least 4 hours per day. Parents using this option must purchase their own books and curriculum materials and can make their own diploma. This diploma is only guaranteed to be accepted at state and local government entities; there is no requirement for private employers to accept it.
Parents can also choose to homeschool using what is known as the Category IV option, often called “satellite “or “umbrella” schools. Parents pay a fee to these schools, complete the enrollment form, buy their own books, and teach their child at home. Some Category IV schools also have a campus where students can attend as well. Locally, Landmark Christian Academy is a Category IV school. Many people in Scott County also homeschool using Gateway School in Memphis. There is no parent education requirement for grades K-8, but parents’ homeschooling a high school student must have a high school diploma or GED. The Category IV school is supposed to notify us that they have enrolled your child but it is advisable for you to tell us and provide proof of enrollment in order to avoid any misunderstanding. Diplomas from a Category IV school are only guaranteed to be accepted at state and local government entities; there is no requirement for private employers to accept it.
The last option for homeschooling in Tennessee is a Category III On Line School. Rules for these are summarized below:
•Intent to Home School form not required
•No parent education requirements
•Transcripts and diplomas are accepted in TN
•Must be regionally accredited by one of the following 5 regional accrediting agencies:
•AdvancEd - formerly SACS & North Central
•Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA)
•New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)
•Northwest Accreditation Commission (NWAC)
•Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
For more information or questions, please see our FAQ section on home schools or call John Blakley at 423-663-8029.